Skip to content
29 November 2013 / stageivhope

Thanks Giving

If you’ve followed this blog for a while, you’ll know that the concept of gratitude is a popular topic around here.  Of the many gifts that Arijit gave me, his thankfulness is the one I’ve been coming back to to most.  His optimism, his joy, his superlative taste in music—all these are fantastic things, but they are also all things I’m thankful I got to experience and make part of my life.

When you’re grieving, it’s hard to see those things for which you should be grateful.  The world can seem like a dark and treacherous place.  How can you be expected to go on when something so terrible has happened?  Why should you even try?  When Arijit died, it felt as though my world was ending.  And, in a way, my version of the world did.  But the bigger world keeps on spinning, and every day I’m grateful I’m still here to enjoy the ride.  Everyone should be.

Being alive makes us lucky.  Being able to recognize our good fortune makes us even luckier.  I’m happy and healthy.  My needs are met.  I have two terrible cats who make me smile and encourage me to take daily naps.  I am surrounded by people who care about me.  I’m now and forever in love.

Today, and every day, I celebrate Arijit and all the things he brought into my life.  I hope you all are able to see the things to be grateful in your lives, too.

***

In addition to giving thanks, please consider giving to the Poop Strong FUNd.  The FUNd will help make the lives of patients with cancer, dementia, and other terminal illness more fulfilling and grant a little piece of normalcy and joy to families experiencing the stress of sickness.  More information can be found here, and the donation directions are below.

Online

  1. Go to https://www.uahealth.com/ways-to-give/donations
  2. Select “Cancer Center Patient Assistance Fund” as the Program Destination
  3. Note that the donation is for the Poop Strong FUNd in the Other/Special Instructions box

You can also mail a check (made payable to the UA Cancer Center Patient Assistance Fund) to the following address (make sure to indicate that the donation is for the Poop Strong FUNd in the memo line):

Patient Assistance Fund
c/o Kristin Uribe
University of Arizona Cancer Center — North Campus
3838 N. Campbell Ave.
Tucson, AZ 85719

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. boliviancookbook / Nov 29 2013 3:04 PM

    Donated!! Happy turkey day!! Xoxo

    -Dave

    >

Leave a comment